UConn will soon return to the heart of Hartford from its current spot in West Hartford. In August 2017, classes are expected to begin at the new downtown campus, anchored by the former Hartford Times building (above), and integrated into the surrounding community of cultural institutions and government offices, revitalizing that downtown space. In addition to undergraduate programs, the campus will house the School of Social Work and the Department of Public Policy.
When the Hartford campus opens its doors this fall, it will mark a return to its urban roots. The campus began as an extension center in Hartford in 1939, and occupied five different sites in the city before moving to its current location in West Hartford in 1970. The original purpose of the branch campuses was to provide a basic two-year curriculum for students who would move on to advanced work at Storrs.
UConn builds its first dorm outside of storrs — in Stamford
UConn Stamford will bring housing to more than 300 students in an effort to offset the lack of affordable housing that deters students from living close to campus. Set to be completed this summer, the new apartment building will mark the first time UConn has offered housing outside of the Storrs campus. The addition answers a boost in student enrollment at UConn Stamford and the desire to offer students a more traditional college experience.
The new six-story building will have 116 apartments — 10 studios, 49 single bedrooms, and 57 two-bedroom units — as well as a first-floor meeting room, additional study lounges on each floor, and retail spaces for renters on the ground floor. Students will be able to move in just in time for the fall 2017 semester.
not the MontEIth you remember!
The 57-year-old Henry Ruthven Monteith Building received a 68,000-square-foot expansion last year. The construction provided crucial academic space for classrooms and faculty offices that have been displaced by the renovation of other campus buildings. The classrooms and offices once used by the social sciences departments of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences now will be used by the Department of Mathematics.
Who is Henry Monteith?
Portrait of Professor Henry Ruthven Monteith (1922). For many years, it hung in the old Dining Hall, also known as the Beanery and now home to the William Benton Museum of Art.
eat your greens
In an effort to make room for the students housed in the new NextGen Hall, Putnam Refectory received a $23 million renovation, completed in fall 2016. The dining hall, which previously seated 350 students, was expanded to seat 700. The now two-story eatery boasts improved self-service buffets and more vegan and locally sourced options. Putnam also is the first dining hall to incorporate features like a high-tech dining room that can be reserved for lectures and demonstrations, a grow wall that houses live herbs used in many dining hall dishes, and a new juice bar.